In WikiNote almost all the pages are editable (provided you are logged in and/or have the edit rights). To edit a page, all you have to do is to click the arrow in the "Edit" button.

Editing Modes

WikiNote comes with a Visual Editor and an Advanced Wiki Editor. Users can easily choose which editing mode they prefer by default on their profile page.

Visual Editor

This mode is similar to the one used by your favorite word processor. It is ideal for first time users or people who do not want to use the Wiki Syntax. In this editor, you see that what you type.. that means, What You See Is What You Get (WYSIWYG), without any concerns for Wiki Syntax.

CKEditor

Visual Editor

There's a toolbar available to add special effects to your text, add images, insert links, add macros, etc.

Visit here to learn everything about Visual Editor.

Wiki Editor

This is a mode you should be familiar with if you're already a wiki user. Here, you can enter text using a simple Wiki Syntax. Note the Help Application which provides help on the syntax when editing a page.

This is how the wiki edit mode looks like:

wiki edit mode

Wiki Mode of Editing

This mode is useful if you know wiki syntax. It has few advantages over Visual Editor in that, it provides more control on rendering the content.

Also, on mobile devices, editing in this mode is easy as mobile devices have limitations and may not support fully the advanced editors like the one used in WikiNote.

But even if you are not familiar with wiki syntax, rest assured that Visual Editor provides simplicity and rich experience.

Page Title vs Page Name

Pages have both names and titles. The page, name is used in the URL to the page while the title is used to display a user-friendly short description of the page.

Page titles can be set while editing documents.

Common Edit Actions

All edit modes have some or all of the elements in the following image:

Edit Actions
Edit and Save Actions

Cancelcauses the changes to be discarded and forwards to the document view mode.
Preview

It shows the document as it would look with the current changes saved, but does not actually change the document.

From the preview mode, the user will be able to cancel the changes, return to edit mode or save the changes. This button is not available in all edit modes.

Save & ContinueIt submits the current changes and returns to the current edit mode.
Save & ViewIt submits the current changes and returns to the document view mode.
minor edit

This checkbox is meant to mark the fact that superficial changes were made to the document. Such changes may include, but are not restricted to: spelling error corrections, text rearrangements, formatting. It is the editor's responsibility to distinguish between major and minor changes.

By default, minor edits do not appear in the "What's New" page and in the document history. The option "Show minor edits" will list all the versions, including minor ones.

Version summaryThis field allows entering a short description of the changes made to the document in the version that is being saved. It is displayed in the history page and it is meant to increase comprehensibility of the content's evolution.
AutosaveThis feature automatically saves the document you're working on as a minor version at a given interval. Just check the Autosave checkbox next to the action buttons, at the bottom of the editing area. You can optionally change the autosave interval by entering the desired number of minutes in the input following the checkbox.

Video Procedure for Page Editing and Creating


 

Tags:
Created by Vishal E on 2017/06/29 18:30